Officials Set For International Duty At Home


Thirty-six referees and linespersons earn assignments to Langley, Delta, Cornwall and Bridgewater

As Hockey Canada’s fall events return for the first time since 2019, the officials are ready to hit the ice.

Thirty-six officials – 17 referees and 19 linespersons – from across the country have been selected for the World Under-17 Hockey ChallengeWorld Junior A Challenge and Para Hockey Cup.

“Our fall events are a great opportunity for individuals participating in our Officiating Program of Excellence,” said Dan Hanoomansingh, manager of officiating with Hockey Canada. “These officials have worked hard to sharpen their skills since their last opportunity at one of our camps. We have been tracking their progression and they have earned their opportunity to officiate these exciting events.”

The Officiating Program of Excellence (OPOE) is the pathway through which Canadian officials are selected for top national and international tournaments. The objectives of the OPOE are to provide a clear developmental pathway for aspiring elite officials, provide developmentally appropriate coaching for elite officials, prepare officials for national and international competitions, and assist Hockey Canada in making evidence-based decisions for assignments.

For more information about the Hockey Canada Officiating Program, visit

World Under-17 Hockey Challenge (Langley & Delta, B.C.)

Name (Hometown)MemberRole
Nick Arcan (Thornton, Ont.)Ontario Hockey FederationLinesperson
Cédric Beaudet (Bécancour, Que.)Hockey QuebecReferee
Mathieu Boudreau (Gatineau, Que.)Hockey QuebecReferee
Sam Currie (Masstown, N.S.)Hockey Nova ScotiaReferee
Tanner Doiron (Bedeque, P.E.I.)Hockey PEIReferee
Maxime Ferland (Ste-Catherine, Que.)Hockey QuebecLinesperson
Mitchell Gibbs (Coquitlam, B.C.)BC HockeyLinesperson
Antoine Huot (Mirabel, Que.)Hockey QuebecLinesperson
Connor McCracken (Chilliwack, B.C.)BC HockeyReferee
Garrett Merrill (Bedford, N.S.)Hockey Eastern OntarioLinesperson
Harrison O’Pray (Moncton, N.B.)Hockey New BrunswickReferee
Tristan Peacock (Ayr, Ont.)Ontario Hockey FederationLinesperson
David-Daniel Pendleton (Dieppe, N.B.)Hockey New BrunswickLinesperson
Kyle Rodgers (Waterloo, Ont.)Ontario Hockey FederationLinesperson
Matthew Scott (Toronto, Ont.)Ontario Hockey FederationReferee
Ty Skene (Prince Albert, Sask.)Hockey SaskatchewanReferee

The officiating coaches for the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge are Dan Hanoomansingh (Vancouver, B.C.) and Kirk Wood (Stratford, Ont.).

World Junior A Challenge (Cornwall, Ont.)

Name (Hometown)MemberRole
Taylor Burzminski (St. Albert, Alta.)Hockey AlbertaReferee
Dominic Cadieux (Saint-Constant, Que.)Hockey QuebecReferee
Danny Emerson (Belleville, Ont.)Ontario Hockey FederationReferee
Jérémy Faucher (Cowansville, Que.)Hockey QuebecLinesperson
Andre Grougrou (Burlington, Ont.)Ontario Hockey FederationLinesperson
Anthony Lapointe (Verdun, Que.)Hockey QuebecLinesperson
Nick Melanson (Moncton, N.B.)Hockey New BrunswickReferee
Shawn Oliver (Ottawa, Ont.)Hockey Eastern OntarioLinesperson
Tim Plamondon (Kelowna, B.C.)BC HockeyLinesperson
Alex Robichaud (Dieppe, N.B.)Hockey New BrunswickReferee

The officiating coaches for the World Junior A Challenge are Hanoomansingh and Todd Robinson (Sackville, N.S.).

Para Hockey Cup (Bridgewater, N.S.)

Name (Hometown)MemberRole
Blaise Curry (Bedford, N.S.)Hockey Nova ScotiaReferee
Dylan Dauphinee (Lunenburg, N.S.)Hockey Nova ScotiaLinesperson
Corey Hayne (Antigonish, N.S.)Hockey Nova ScotiaReferee
Nick MacIsaac (Judique, N.S.)Hockey Nova ScotiaLinesperson
Brad Murray (Bridgewater, N.S.)Hockey Nova ScotiaLinesperson
Chris Newell (Chebucto, N.S.)Hockey Nova ScotiaReferee
Ryan O’Rourke (Yarmouth, N.S.)Hockey Nova ScotiaLinesperson
Jane Ogilvie (Truro, N.S.)Hockey Nova ScotiaLinesperson
Chris Palk (Sackville, N.S.)Hockey Nova ScotiaReferee
Drake Robinson (Timberlea, N.S.)Hockey Nova ScotiaReferee
Source Hockey Canada